Fall 2015 Schedule

BYU Condensed Matter Physics Seminar, Fall Semester 2015

Assumed to be in N288 ESC on Thursdays 4:00-5:00 PM unless otherwise specified.  


 

Thursday Sep 24

Jeremy Jorgensen

Improving band interpolation and band integration in DFT

Matt Burbidge

Understanding Integration Schemes in DFT Codes

 

Thursday Oct 1

Jake Hansen

Using convex hulls to find superalloys

Chandramouli Nyshadham

A high-throughput search for ternary superalloys

 

Thursday Oct 8

Derek Ostrom

Wang-Landau Sampling for Finding New Alloys

Wiley Morgan

 

 

Thursday Oct 15

No Seminar (4CS meeting)

 

 

Thursday Oct 22

Branton Campbell

 Superspacegroups: Part I

 

Thursday Oct 29

 Superspacegroups: Part II

 

Thursday Nov 5

Karine Chesnel

Shaping nanoscale magnetic domain memory by field cooling

 

Thursday Nov 12

John Colton and Kyle Miller

Finding resonant frequencies of complex cylindrical cavities with the help of Ross Spencer

 

 

Thursday Nov 19

?

 

Thursday Dec 3

?)

TBA

 

Thursday Dec 10

?

TBA

 

Potential speakers:

Larry Howell (BYU)


 


Send email to  Gus Hart if you have questions about the schedule.